Miscellaneous Photographs

The new home of www.johndenniston.ca ... sportpix.ca ... dirtbikephoto.com

Track and Field

The somersault long jump

May 5th, 1974 — Rey Delago from Spokane Falls Community College introduced the somersault long jump to Vancouver during the 1973 Vancouver Relays at Brockton Oval in Stanley Park. The technique was an attempt at creating a breakthrough in the event much the like the Brill Bend (sometimes called the Fosbury Flop) did to high jumping. It didn’t quite work for Delago who finished 8th. More about the technique which has since been banned after the pictures below.

May 6th, 1974 -- Vancouver Relays at Brockton Oval in Stanley Park.

May 6th, 1974 -- Vancouver Relays at Brockton Oval in Stanley Park.

May 6th, 1974 -- Vancouver Relays at Brockton Oval in Stanley Park.

May 6th, 1974 -- Vancouver Relays at Brockton Oval in Stanley Park.

May 6th, 1974 -- Vancouver Relays at Brockton Oval in Stanley Park.

Excerpt from Sports Illustrated July 29th, 1974 …

… the technique is not that new. The somersault long jump had been written about and discussed before the last Olympic Games by Tom Ecker, a coach and authority on biomechanics who is the flip’s No. 1 advocate, if not its modern-day originator. Author of Track and Field Dynamics, Ecker says he never heard of the flip before 1970, when he wrote his book. Since its publication in 1971, however, he has talked to a coach who says he saw it performed in 1947 and has heard from another reader who claims to have seen it in 1925.
Ecker’s advocacy engendered little response until last year, when Pole Vaulter Dave Nielsen, a student at theUniversity of Iowa, took up the somersault long jump for fun. A Swedish-born American citizen who had never been more than a mediocre long jumper, Nielsen improved his conventional best by a foot to 22’6″ with the flip. At a meet in Stockholm he demonstrated the technique for Hans Lagerqvist, the Swedish vaulter, who later enlightened the Germans, among others, by demonstrating the flip over television. Shortly thereafter, 32-year-old Bernhard Stierle of West Germany adopted the technique, flipped 7.5 meters (24’7�”) and somehow was credited with inventing the thing.
While others may have tried the flip before the ’70s or gained more recent notoriety with its use, Ecker was the first to explain its technical advantages through the laws of physics. Ecker claims the flip has undeniable dynamic advantages over conventional jumping, not the least of which is reduced wind resistance, because of the compact manner in which the jumper tucks his body together. The biggest plus, however, is that the flipper utilizes forward body rotation, while rotation is what most hinders the “normal” jumper.
Whether he knows it or not, once the conventional jumper leaves the board, he is fighting “the principle of the hinged moment,” which sounds like a daytime TV serial but is a physical law. It says that when any object is moving and one end of it is stopped, the opposite end continues moving at an accelerated rate to produce rotation. Because a long jumper’s foot is stopped on the board for about .12 seconds while his upper body is still moving, the forward rotation will dump the juniper on his face unless he compensates with the hitch kick, the hang, or some other counteracting body movement. Even with those techniques, which are difficult to learn, rotation is diminished only temporarily.

High school track meet

June 2nd 2012 — Photographs from the BC High School Track and Field Championships held at Swangard Stadium in Burnaby. More results from the meet can be found at Howard Tsumura’s high school sports column at The Province.

Christian Gravel
Christian Gravel from Vancouver’s St. George’s Saints won the 3,000 metres, the 1,500 metres and the 2,000 metre steeplechase.

James Linde
James Linde (left) from Charles Best High was so sure he finished second to Chad Payne (right) in the mens 100 meters that he congratulated him after the race. However, by the time he’d walked over to the podium he’d been declared the winner by 4/100 of a second.

Matthew Chan
Matthew Chan (right) from Lord Byng Senior Secondary won the boys 100 meter dash by 4/1000th of a second over three other runners who were all timed at 11.9 seconds

Matthew Swanson
Matthew Swanson of North Vancouver’s Sutherland High School clips the last hurdle in the men’s 400-metre hurdles which he won along with the 800 metres earlier in the day.

Kala Stone
Kala Stone from South Kamloops Secondary won the women’s 1500 metres in 4:34.55

Nathan George
Nathan George (left) from Centennial Secondary won the men’s 200 metre and 400 metre sprints.

Ben Daly Grafstein
Ben Daly Grafstein was selected the meet’s Most Inspirational Performer, after he came back from torn hamstrings on both legs to win the men’s decathlon and the 110 metre hurdles.

Ashley Windsor
Ashley Windsor (523) won the women’s 3,000 and 800 metres and finished second in the 1,500 metres.

Rui Ando and Taylor Chan
Rui Ando (2230) and Taylor Chan (2152) strain at the finish of the boys 800 metre timed final to place 4th and 5th.

Katharine Tourigny
Katharine Tourigny of West Point Grey won the women’s 400 metre hurdles and finished second in the 100 metre hurdles.

Elisa Joyce
Elisa Joyce from Kelowna won the women’s 100 and 200 metre sprints.

Jake Hanna
Jake Hanna of Elgin Park won the boys 200 and 400 metre sprints.

Emma Balazs
Emma Balazs (492) from Kelly Road about to catch Regan Yee (404) and take the lead in the women’s 1500 stepple chase. Yee finished second and Madelyn Brunt (280) finished third.

High school track

June 5th, 2011 — Winners from the 2011 BC High School Track and Field Championships held at Swangard Stadium in Burnaby. For more stories from the track meet see Howard Tsumura’s blog at The Province.

Nakai Luyken
Nakai Luyken wins the 100 meter sprint for men.

Keffri Neal
Keffri Neal won the both the 1500 and 800 meter events for men.

Patrick Psotka
Patrick Psotka (#218) won the men’s 2000 meter steeplechase.

Katie Reid
Katie Reid won both the 200 and 400 meter events.

Adeyemi Taylor-Lewis
Adeyemi Taylor-Lewis won the boy’s 100 and 200 meter sprints. Eric Pollard at the right on the above picture was 2nd in the 200 meter race and 5th in the 100 meters.

kala stone AND sarah bailey
Kala Stone (left) won the women’s 1500 meters. Sarah Bailey (right) won the woman’s 800 meters.

Nick Blackburn
Nick Blackburn won the men’s 400 meter hurdles

Jenny McCormack

Jenny McCormack steeplechase
June 5th, 2010 — Jenny McCormack from New Westminster High School gets completely dunked after slipping on the water jump during the women’s steeplechase at the 2010 BC High School Track and Field Championships held at Swangard Stadium. She recovered to finish 17th in a field of 24.

No medal

Ethan Wilkenson track meet
June 5th, 2010 — It’s all about trying at the BC High School track meet. Ethan Wilkenson put everything he had into his 800 meter three heat timed final winning over Brandon Figuieroa by two tenths of a second but in the end it was only good enough for 9th overall. Figuieroa finished 11th.

1500 meters

Sean Keane 1500 meters
June 5th, 2010 — Sean Keane (1081) from White Rock won the boy’s 1500 meter race at the 2010 BC High School Track and Field Championships at Swangard Stadium in Burnaby with a time of 4:04:.02. Blair Johnston (1080) was 2nd and Deon Clifford (902) from Earl Marriott Secondary School was 3rd.

Miscellaneous Photographs © 2017 Frontier Theme